here’s the why.

mile·stone/ˈmīlˌstōn/
noun: 1. a stone set up beside a road to mark the distance in miles to a particular place.
         2. an action or event marking a significant change or stage in development.

aka your 30th birthday. or finally getting promoted at work. or losing your virginity. or moving out of your parents’ house. or beating the original mario brothers on the original nintendo. or getting married. or realizing that santa claus IS real. or god forbid, even having a baby. for me, it was my father passing away (sorry, no party hats on this one).

there’s no need for details, sob stories, or even sympathy. the fact of the matter is, that day changed everything. it was the day i realized i lived 1,247 miles from home. of course, before that day, i knew i lived full states away from my family (mama didn’t raise no fool), but it took that event for me to experience exactly what 1,247 actually felt like. talk about a milestone.

so, i decided to find my way back. i cant say i did it immediately, or that it was easy, or even what i wanted. but, that day sparked my understanding that life is too short to be unhappy, though i’m sure mr. rogers tried to teach me that a long time ago.

so, here i am, freshly re-planted from san francisco, california back to my home state of colorado. i’m going to focus on the things that make me happy: hot glue guns, sunsets, views from 14,000 ft, good friends, home made dessert, old records, the smell of my camera bag, finding that one pair of shoes at the thrift store which are exactly my right size, and my completely bizzare-o family. (for the record, i miss san francisco daily. i’ve since realized you’re allowed to have multiple places you consider “home”).

happiness.

happiness is a choice. i’m choosing it.

Leave a Reply

